Add a highlight on Instagram without posting a story

Instagram Highlights are a great way to get closer to your followers. You can share your special moments with them, making your profile more attractive. However, there is a way you can save a video to your highlights without anyone seeing it.

It could be a video that is special to you and that you don’t want to share with other people, and that’s fine. We are now going to explain how to add a video from your camera roll to your Instagram Highlights.

What are Instagram highlights

To understand why you want to add an Instagram highlight without posting an Instagram story, you need to know why this feature is incredibly useful. The main benefit of adding a highlight is that it stays on your profile indefinitely while stories disappear after 24 hours.

Your Instagram highlight should be well thought out and it can be used for advertising, to connect with your followers or to show others what you are most proud of. Whatever your reasons for adding a highlight, there are quite a few options for you with this feature.

Highlights are similar to files and contain your most valuable content. You can create a folder and customize its name, background photo and more. You can view your stories by tapping the profile icon in the lower left corner and tapping the highlights under the “Edit Profile” option.

Add a story to highlights without adding it to story

Normally, Instagram Stories need to be published and shown to everyone for at least 24 hours before you can move them to the Highlights section. But there is a little hack you can use to add a story to your Highlights without publishing it. The process is simple and easy to follow… Here’s how to add Stories to Highlights without anyone seeing them.

  1. Set your profile to Private.
    IMG 2593
  2. Create a Story as you normally would. But go to Settings before uploading or recording.
    IMG 6C56E2096BCA 1
  3. Go to your Story Settings.
    IMG 8A3F9BD6498F 1
  4. Tap Hide story from.
    IMG CA3BE3EAC9B3 1
  5. Tap the bubbles next to all your friends to hide the story from them.
    IMG 5DF9A93113E9 1
  6. Or you can block everyone from seeing your story.
    IMG 2594
  7. Upload the desired story.
  8. Add the story to your Highlights.
    N347.1
  9. Unblock people after 24 hours so they can see your stories again.

After waiting 24 hours for the video to transfer to your Highlights, it’s time to unblock everyone the same way you blocked them. The next time they view your profile, the story will already be added to your highlights, and that’s about it.

What if your story can’t be added to Instagram highlights?

The only reason you couldn’t add a story to your Instagram highlights is if you didn’t wait the 24 hours you needed after posting the video. If you deleted the video before the 24-hour mark, you won’t be able to add the story to your Highlights section.

If you can’t see the Flag feature, try uploading the story again and look for the button once you’ve published it. If that doesn’t work either, wait for the feature to appear on your home page after 24 hours.

Benefits of Using Instagram Highlights

Instagram Highlights are a great way to let people know what you’re about. The option works great for self-promotion, but the main benefit of Highlights on Instagram is promoting your brand and products. The Highlights section can help your brand draw attention to the product you’re selling. This way everyone can view your offer.

You can also add a link to your website to drive traffic from Instagram to your brand’s site. Highlights look great and are easy to organize. You can also tailor your offers to the feedback from your followers and customers. Make sure to update your brand highlights regularly.

The Highlights are a great way to get your message to the right people. You can inform your followers about an event or promotion and give them full details about your offer and possible discounts, giveaways and bundles.

Choose your highlights carefully

Posting highlights is one thing, knowing what to post is another. Choose your moments and make sure your posts represent who you are and what you are about. If you do things right, success will soon follow.

Delete highlights

You may want to delete your Highlight, and it’s easy to do that once you know how to do it. If you’ve featured a highlight for an upcoming event, you may want to delete or change it once the event is over. Follow these steps to delete an Instagram highlight:

  1. Navigate to your profile on Instagram by tapping the person icon in the lower left corner.
    Screen Shot 2020 11 16 at 11 01 12 AM
  2. Find the Instagram story you want to delete, under the Edit Profile option.
  3. Long press the Highlight preview (it’s the circular icon that contains the highlight).
    IMG 2596
  4. Tap “Remove Flag” to remove it. You can also tap the “Edit” option to add more to this highlight.
    IMG 2597

Instagram doesn’t offer much post-production processing options for users, so the ability to go back and add more to an Instagram highlight is a welcome addition to the social media platform.

Frequently Asked Questions

Instagram highlights are an excellent way to keep a story alive. If you have more questions, read on.

What is a highlight?

An Instagram highlight is a story that gets pinned to your profile. While traditional stories only last 24 hours, a highlight will remain on your profile as long as you don’t delete it.

What is the difference between a highlight and a story?

An Instagram Story is a video that you turn into a Highlight. But the Story will only remain on your account for 24 hours. Essentially, you need to create a Story before you can pin it to your account as a Highlight.

Instagram stories

Instagram, while exceptionally popular, has its limitations. Were you able to post a story to your Highlights without sharing it with your friends? Let us know in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *