Read receipts let the sender know that their message has been delivered and read. These notifications appear in one form or another in the messaging application.
Users who prefer to follow their posts will benefit from read receipts; however, others choose to disable their read receipts to maintain some anonymity when sending messages.
So, how do you know if someone is turning off their read receipt?
The answer to this question depends on the type of messaging service being used. Read on to learn how to use read receipts in several of the most popular messaging apps available.
How do you know if someone has disabled their read receipt?
Most major messaging platforms have a read receipts feature, but not all make it easy to disable this feature or see if someone has disabled it on their end.
Here’s how to use read receipts in some of the most used messaging apps.
iMessage enables read receipts by default, but allows users to customize their read receipts. When you send a text message to another iPhone via iMessage, you will see the blue bubble in the chat window. Below you will see the status marked as ‘Sent’, ‘Delivered’ or ‘Read’.
iMessage settings allow users to enable read receipts for certain contacts, while keeping them disabled for others. Assuming you only see the word “Delivered” in gray below the message you sent, the recipient has their read receipt disabled.
If the bubble is green, it means the recipient is not using an iPhone, which means the read receipts are not working. Android and iOS don’t share read receipts by default, so you won’t get feedback when you text your AndroidOS friends.
One of the newer features of Android phones is Rich Communication Services (RCS). This feature allows Android users to see read receipts, similar to Apple’s iPhone. However, unlike iOS, AndroidOS does not have color-coded texts based on the operating system. The lack of color coding makes it harder for Android users to tell if someone has disabled their read receipt or if they’re using an iPhone.
Assuming you’re using the RCS feature, you can see others’ read receipts and they see yours. But older Androids don’t have such a feature.
If another user has enabled read receipts, you will receive feedback such as “Sent”, “Delivered”, and “Read”, as shown below.
Read receipts can be turned off in the Chat settings in Messages. If someone has turned off read receipts, the feedback won’t show in the app.
Signal shows message statuses by default, although you can turn it off if you want.
A single check mark indicates that the message has been received by the Signal server. Two check marks mean it has been delivered to the recipient. When those two checkmarks turn blue, it means the recipient has read your message.
If the check marks don’t turn blue, they may have disabled read receipts.
WhatsApp also uses the check mark to show the message status. As with Signal, you can disable read receipts if you wish.
One gray check means your message has been sent. Two gray check marks mean it has been delivered. Two blue check marks mean the message has been read. You can press and hold the message to see what time it was read if you really need to.
If the two checks remain gray, the recipient may have disabled read receipts.
Read receipts from Facebook Messenger work much the same as the other messaging applications mentioned. Facebook messenger uses circles.
A blue circle means your message is being sent. A blue circle with a check mark means it was sent successfully. A filled blue circle with a check mark means it has been delivered. A profile picture below the post means it has been read.
If that profile picture isn’t showing, the recipient may have turned off read receipts.
Facebook does not provide users with an option to disable Read Receipts from within the application, but there are workarounds if you want to keep your message reading activities anonymous. Read our article on turn off read receipts in Messenger.
Telegram also provides read receipts by default and allows you to disable them. A single green check indicates that the message has been received, while two green checks indicate that your message has been read.
The recipient may have turned off read receipts if you don’t see that second green check.
Instagram DMs have a very simple read receipt system. When your message is open, the word “Seen” will appear below the message. If you’re on a conversation with multiple people, an eye icon will appear and the Instagram name of the person who saw your post.
The recipient may have turned off read receipts if you don’t see the “Seen” text or the eye icon.
On Snapchat, when your message reaches your correspondent’s inbox, the word “Delivered” will appear in the app. Once they actually open the message, it will say ‘Opened’.
Snapchat doesn’t allow you to disable the ability to see if a Snap or a message is open, so if you don’t want to use a read receipt platform, don’t use Snapchat.
On the other hand, if you want to communicate with someone who doesn’t like read receipts but does have Snapchat, you’ll know for sure when they open your message within Snapchat.
LinkedIn does offer users the option to disable read receipts. Once a message has been read, the recipient’s profile picture will appear below the message. If this profile picture isn’t showing, but the person has responded, then the read receipt is probably disabled.
See our tutorial article on how do you know if someone has read your message on LinkedIn.
TikTok recently introduced read receipts to its messaging service. Fortunately, users can choose to subscribe or unsubscribe. However, if you disable read receipts on TikTok, you won’t be able to see the other person’s either.
But if you have your read receipts turned on (and they do), you can see when the recipient opens your message.
Frequently Asked Questions
Find the answers to more of your messaging questions here.
Can I undo a message?
You might be lucky if you want to undo a message before someone else reads it. But it all depends on which service you used. Here’s the breakdown:
You can undo posts on these platforms:
– iOS 16 or later (within two minutes).
– Facebook Messenger (always).
– Telegram (48 hours).
– Signal (3 hours).
– Whatsapp (48 hours).
– LinkedIn (60 minutes).
– Instagram (exact time unknown).
You cannot unsend messages on these platforms:
– Android operating system.
– iOS 15 or older.
– Snapchat (but there are solutions).
If I turn off read receipts, can I still see if the other person has opened my messages?
On most platforms, no. But iOS lets users see other people’s read receipts, even if theirs is turned off.
Read receipts are useful for those who want to make sure they get notified when their messages have been read. They check the delivery and reassure you. They hold you accountable for answering and maintaining the dialogue with the other person. These notifications can encourage us to maintain relationships with others and prevent us from becoming recluses and not interacting with others.
However, many users prefer to turn off read receipts to maintain some privacy and have less responsibility when it comes to responding in a timely manner. If you want to check if one of your friends has turned off read receipts, the easiest way to do so is to simply send a message, wait for a reply, and see if you get a “Seen” notification.