How do you know if someone has deleted their Discord account?

Discord is often used for communication between gamers and friends, but it can be a bit too much to handle. If someone no longer wants to use the service, he or she can completely delete their account. Unfortunately, Discord does not warn other members that an account has been deleted.

There is a fairly simple solution to find out if someone has deleted their account. Though it may also seem like they just unfriended you or may have been banned. Let’s figure it out together.

Has an account been deleted?

Discord, like most other platforms, allows users to delete or disable their accounts. But you can also block and unfriend people. When an account you interact with looks different or doesn’t respond, you may wonder why.

Determining whether an account has been deleted, disabled or blocked is not that difficult. One of the first things you’ll notice about the account in question is a change in username.

Deleted/Disabled Accounts

If the account is active, it will look like this:

Remark: An active account has a four-digit number after the hashtag.

Screenshot 300x134 1

When an account is deleted, the name of the account changes to something along the lines of: “Deleted user#####.” The numbers that appear after the “DeletedUser” can be all zeros or any number of randomly generated numbers. So if your friend is currently on your “Friends List” like this, his account has been deleted.

The name may also appear in previously posted messages, including those in the server chat rooms, direct messages, and any other point of interaction on Discord.

Each account has a unique identification number (in the case of the screenshot above, the ID number is “7098”) when creating the account. The account username and unique identifier are no longer meaningfully linked once an account is deleted. This assures the person whose account has been deleted that their information and previously posted text cannot be traced back to them.

Another indicator that an account has been deleted or disabled is that mutual friends the two users had no longer show up as “reciprocal connections.” This is because the user with the deleted/disabled account is no longer active.

If an account has been disabled by Discord for abuse or if a minor has used the account, the username will look the same as above. Regardless of the reason; if you see “DeletedUser#####”, the account is no longer active.

Those who want to delete their Discord account permanently can do so. To make sure that even the “DeletedUser#####” no longer appears on the platform, users can contact the support team at [email protected]

Blocked accounts

Users can still see a disabled or deleted account. If someone has been blocked by another user, the account will no longer appear at all. If you think you’ve been blocked but see the “Deleted user #####’, then you are not blocked.

Screen Shot 2020 10 10 at 8.36.41 PM

unfriended

If you can still see the username active, like the screenshot above, then the account is not disabled and you are not blocked. If you can’t see the information about the account, it just means you’ve been unfriended.

Screenshot 18

What happens if someone deletes their account?

If someone deletes their account, the messages they sent will be kept, along with images and other information. This makes it difficult for many users to determine if an account is gone for good or if the administrator is taking a break.

While past information will remain, you will find that there is no new activity and you will not receive any response to your current posts.

If you need to delete your account and want to take your messages with you, tap the three horizontal dots next to each message and select the option to delete before closing your account.

Screen Shot 2020 10 10 at 8.41.34 PM

Recover a deleted account

Discord does not permanently delete account data for 30 days. When someone deletes their account, they can reactivate it.

Regardless of the reason for the deletion, it is possible to recover the account within 30 days.

Once the 30 days are up, the account will be permanently deleted along with any personal information associated with it. This is done to comply with the requirements of the GDPR or the “General Data Protection Regulation”.

To restore the Discord account to its normal state:

  1. The user with the deleted account must log in to Discord.
    • An open “Account Scheduled for Deletion” window should appear, indicating that your account has started the countdown to permanent destruction.
      how to know if account deleted Discord 1
  2. Just below the “I’m sure! button,” you should see “Change your mind? Restore Account.”
  3. Click Restore Account to regain access to your account.
    • If you don’t see the described dialog when you log in to recover your account, it’s already too late. The account is no longer available for recovery and has been permanently deleted.
    • To create a new account, you have to start the process again.

Accounts deleted thanks to Discord will require you to create new accounts. It is possible that the IP address associated with your deleted account has also been banned. This means you’ll need the help of a VPN to get around the ban and create a new account.

Frequently Asked Questions

Below we have listed some more information for you!

What is the difference between a disabled and a deactivated account?

Some users need a break from the messaging client, but they know they want to come back one day. These users choose to temporarily close their account, which is what we call a disabled account. Other users are completely done with the client. An account that a user has no intention of returning to is called a deactivated account.

Can I message someone who has disabled their account?

Absolute. A disabled account will still allow friend requests and messages, but the user will not be notified until the account is enabled. Once they log in, all their messages and friend requests will work again.

I had a good chat with another user and now their username says ‘Deleted user’. Is this an error?

If you’re talking to someone on Discord and they suddenly appear as a deleted user, you may be wondering if it was a glitch. What happened to your friend? Assuming you got along very well and spoke regularly, your first thought will probably be that this is a strange error. The most common possibility is that Discord has banned the user and their IP address.

If you’ve never met the person and you really don’t know much about them, it’s very possible that the great conversation you had was a spam account. On the other hand, Discord is not without its flaws, and several users have complained on the forums that their accounts have been spontaneously deleted. When this happens, all you can do is contact Discord Support and hope for the best.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *