What does archiving on Facebook do?

Sometimes you post on Facebook and then reconsider. This can be for several reasons. There are a few things you can do. It is possible to archive the mail.

In this article, we’ll discuss exactly what the archive function does and what other alternatives you have for a questionable post.

What does the archive button on Facebook do?

There may come a time when you post a message on Facebook but aren’t quite sure if you want to keep it. Fortunately, there is something you can do without removing it. This is where archiving comes in handy. If you don’t want to delete the post completely, but also don’t want it to be seen by others, you can use Facebook’s archiving feature. By archiving it, it is only available to be viewed by you and you can restore it at any time.

Follow these instructions to archive a message using a computer or laptop:

  1. Find the message you want to archive.
    z1 1
  2. Click the “ellipsis” icon in the top right corner of the message.
    z2 1
  3. Select ‘Move to archive’ from the drop-down menu.
    z3 1
  4. You’ll see an on-screen notification that the message has been moved to the archive, along with a link if you’d like to see it in the archive folder.
    z4 1

To archive a message using the mobile app, do the following:

  1. Go to the message you want to archive.
    lester2 1
  2. Tap the “ellipsis” icon in the top left corner of the message.
    lester3 1
  3. Select ‘Move to archive’.
    lester1 2
  4. You will receive a notification that your message has been moved to the archive. You can also tap the link to go directly to the archive.
    lester4 1

That’s all there is to archive posts on Facebook. If there comes a time when you want to make an archived message available again, you can easily make the change. You can restore your archived content by going to your activity log. Follow these steps to restore an archived message:

  1. Click on your profile picture in the top left corner of the screen.
    z5 1
  2. Select “Activity Log” from the drop-down menu.
    z6 1
  3. From the menu in the left pane, choose Message Archive.
    z7 1
  4. You will see a list of archived messages. Press the “ellipsis” icon and tap “Restore to Profile”.
    z8 1

What does archive do in Facebook Messenger?

Archiving with Facebook Messenger is different than on the Facebook platform. Since only you can see your Facebook posts, you don’t have to hide them from anyone. You always have the option to delete a chat, but if you want you can archive them. Archiving a Facebook post will hide it from you. You can easily revisit it at a later time.

Follow the steps below to archive a Facebook Messenger chat using the desktop app:

  1. Find the chat you want to archive.
    z9 1
  2. Right click or tap the “ellipsis” icon.
    z10
  3. Choose ‘Archive Chat’.
    z11

To archive with the Facebook Messenger app (messenger.com), do the following:

  1. Find the chat you want to archive.
    klyde
  2. Long press the chat head and select “Archive”
    klyde2

If at any point you change your mind and want to undo this action, you have the option to restore an archived chat. Here’s what to do:

  1. Launch the Facebook Messenger app on your mobile device.
    klyde3
  2. In the search box at the top of the screen, type the name of the person whose chat you want to remove from the archive.
    klyde4
  3. Tap the person’s name to restore the chat.
    klyde5

FAQ

I have deleted a message. Can I reverse this action?

The answer to this depends on how long ago you deleted the message. Deleted messages remain in your Facebook Trash for 30 days. After 30 days, all deleted messages will no longer be available.

To recover a deleted message, do the following:

1. Click on your profile picture and go to ‘Settings & privacy’.

2. Select ‘Activity Log’.

3. From the menu in the left pane, tap “Trash”.

4. Here you’ll see all messages you’ve deleted in the last 29 days or less. You can check the box next to the content and then select ‘Restore’.

Archive vs delete in Facebook explained

If you’re archiving to Facebook, you’re hiding your post from others’ view so that only you can see it. If you decide to undo the action, you can easily restore the post. For Messenger, archiving just hides the chat from your view and you can only see it by physically going to your chat archives. For both Facebook and Messenger, deleting a message or chat is an irreversible act. Once messages are deleted, they are completely gone. Deleted messages are available for 30 days.

Do you have questions about what archiving does in Facebook? Did the information in his article help you understand? Let us know in the comments below.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *